Krishna Chakraborty named Mayor of Bidhannagar


By a staff reporter : Krishna Chakraborty has been appointed the Mayor of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation.
Sabyasachi Dutta, who recently came back to Trinamool Congress after his brief stay in BJP, has been appointed as the chairman. Anita Mondal has been made the deputy mayor.

The decision was taken at the first meeting of the national working committee of Trinamool Congress on Friday evening. The meeting was held at Mamata Banerjee’s Kalighat residence with Firhad Hakim announcing the names of the Mayor and the chairman.

Bidhan Upadhyay has been appointed as the Mayor of Asansol Municipal Corporation while Wasimul Haque and Abhijit Ghatak have been made the deputy mayors. Hakim said the Urban Development and Municipal Affairs department would bring the necessary amendment to provide two posts of deputy mayor in the civic bodies.

Ram Chakraborty has been appointed as the Mayor of Chandernagore Municipal Corporation. The name of the chairman’s post will be announced later.

Earlier, Mamata Banerjee had announced Gautam Deb as the mayor of Siliguri Municipal Corporation. The name of the deputy mayor and chairman will be announced later.

Talking to newsmen after becoming the mayor of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation, Chakraborty said her primary work would be to simplify the method of calculating property tax in Salt Lake.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here