Suspended BJP MLAs will not be able to attend meetings of assembly committees


In January, all committee meetings of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly were adjourned due to the sudden surge in Covid cases. But since the situation has become normal, the meeting of the Standing and Assembly Committee of the Legislative Assembly is going to start again from 6th April onwards. On Thursday, Speaker Biman Bandyopadhyay sat in a meeting with the chairmen of 41 committees. At the same meeting, the Speaker informed that the meetings of the Legislative Assembly Committee will start again from 6th April.

According to sources, though the speaker does not say anything, the seven suspended BJP MLAs will not be able to attend the meetings. The seven suspendeds are Leader of Opposition Shuvendu Adhikari, Chief Warner Manoj Tigga, Natabari MLA Mihir Goswami, Purulia MLA Sudip Mukhopadhyay, Falakata MLA Deepak Barman and Shiliguri MLA Shankar Ghosh. Because it is known in the context, that the speaker had suspended them in the budget session. And since the session has been adjourned, it has not ended. So the suspension has still not overed. Therefore, they will not be able to take part in any work of the assembly.

Manoj, chief warner of the BJP party said, “The assembly authorities have not informed us yet. So we will not be able say something before discussing with the parliamentary party.” On the last day of the budget session on Monday, the ruling and opposition legislators clashed in the assembly. Opposition leader Shuvendu Adhikari was accused of blowing the nose of Asit Majumdar, a Trinamool MLA from Chunchura. In a counter BJP gave letter to the speaker, saying that 10 members of their MLAs had also injured in the incident. Earlier, five BJP MLAs, including the Leader of the Opposition, were suspended on charges of creating chaos in the session. Earlier, BJP MLAs Mihir and Sudip were suspended from the assembly session due to a commotion on the day of the governor’s speech.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here